RaspberryJefe

By RaspberryJefe

Cardboard Artist

I was stopped at a red light, and this chap was working the corner. I dug a few coins out of my parking meter reserve and handed them over. Traffic forced me to move, but I was curious about the sign so I circled the block in order to park and get a better look. Meanwhile, he had gone over to the Burger King to use the facilities, and his partner was minding the sign. She said he might be willing to sell the sign for $40.

Bentley Yazzie is mostly Navajo, and clearly has some skill as a native artist. The eagle, feathers, wings and husky stem out of a deep cultural heritage. I didn't have $40 with me, but when he returned, Bentley said he would take what I had. He's fallen on hard times, and really wanted a bit of cash. He signed my newly acquired work of art (on a cardboard backing) and we parted company. I said I would look for him again next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.