GOD'S GRACE

We had a great service at Church today with some good songs and an excellent sermon by Rob, who did a fantastic job, despite it being his first time and being a little nervous!  He made us laugh because he said that good Baptists usually have a “3 Point” sermon, but his would have “6 Points” but they would be short!  After hearing Rob’s sermon, I have no doubt he will be asked to preach again!

His children’s talk or rather a chat with them, as he got down to their level, was about God’s grace and what it means - that we are given lots of things by God for free, even when we don’t deserve them.  He encouraged the children to shout out some of those things and they ranged from food to fun and all manner of things in between.  Someone even shouted out “toilets” and as funny as that might sound, there are many places in the world that don’t have decent sanitation, so it is something we take for granted and for which we should be thankful.

We had been at Church since before 9 o’clock, as we had a Church Breakfast, hosted by the Pastoral Care Team.  My first shot in this collage is two of the girls, waiting until spot on 9.30 before they had a lemon flapjack!  When I told them it was 9.31 and said that they could tuck in, they did.  

There was a lovely buzz and atmosphere and all the croissants, chocolate chip croissants and hot cross buns were quickly demolished.  Mr. HCB worked manfully - I hope I’m allowed to say that (!) with the dishwasher, although he is not actually part of the PCT and did a great job too - and as I have said before, supports me in the voluntary work I do - without him, I couldn’t do it all.

Bobby the Unicorn belongs to Constance, who I found out, prefers to be called Connie, and Zac was playing with Crocky the crocodile - I thought it was his, but apparently, that was Connie’s too.  It was good to chat with the two of them - and I did mention to their Mums that I would be using Bobby and Crocky, but that I hadn’t actually included the children’s faces.

The tulips which I took last week, were also looking good, and had really opened up, but they didn’t look as good on Wednesday when I went to Worship Group Practice, so I gave them a drink of water and they had perked up by this morning.

The last shot is one of the verses that Rob quoted to us during his sermon - so a good collage of our morning at GHBC.  We finished our service by singing the hymn, “Amazing Grace” but a newer version with a chorus - if you don’t know it, do listen to it HERE - it really is good.

I'm now at home cooking a roast dinner, before going off to Church again this evening, so a busy day, but a good one so far.

Hope you all have a great week - stay warm and safe, especially if we get the snow that we are being promised.

“Grace is the voice 
     that calls us to change 
          and then gives us the power 
               to pull it off.”
Max Lucado

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.