Searching

FINALLY, finally I had a few minutes with the talk of Slimbridge WWT today; a white rumped sandpiper. Yes it was right in front of me but could I spot it amongst the clouds of dunlin who were wading too .....er no. 

Approximately 7 inches big and blending in with the flocks around on the lake I would have had no hope, was swinging the lens wildly thinking I'd no chance then overheard a lady with bins giving directions to someone. Excellent. I was even more thankful as it was over in a trice because the whole lake was spooked by a raptor; it flew to distant shores .....  

The characteristics of the white-rumped sandpiper I had to look up and consequently check for myself before I posted!

1. Long primary feathers - on the wing - check
2. base of bill tipped with brown - check  - only on magnification and 
3. Streaked flanks - check
4. Shorter beak than the dunlins it was with - check
5. White rump showing in flight  - who knows. 

Quite cute if I'm honest.

Another tick in the box - if I had one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.