The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Alton Priors (Sunday 5th March 2023)

The day after Joe Tree Day I was online researching more information about the beech trees I'd blipped on the day, and found some facts I hadn't known and added them to my write-up. I found myself reading about several of Wiltshire's most notable trees including some in Savernake Forest that I mean to check out, and an old yew tree in the churchyard of All Saints church in Alton Priors.

I had visited this once before in 2014 and taken one photograph of it, but felt that it warranted a revisit, so I drove over there on Sunday afternoon.

I parked outside St Mary's church in Alton Barnes, very close by, which has its own impressive yew. All Saints is reached by walking along a stone path across some large fields that are inhabited by a very large herd of inquisitive cows and a big black bull who tried staring me out. The cows proceeded in front of me and actually gave chase to two small children who were in the field and had perhaps provoked them. I had to shoo the herd of cows away from my path in order to reach the old church where I found this ancient yew, now split in two, said to be 1,700 years old.

I was less than a mile away from the Kennet and Avon. It would have been rude not to pay it a visit, so I drove on to The Barge inn at Honeystreet to walk the towpaths in either direction. A lone juvenile swan kept me company.

L.
Monday 6.3.2023 (1125 hr)

Blip #3823 (#3573 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2023 #033/265 + #021/100 Extras
Day #4726 (1162 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2963 (#2803 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (White) and Pentax smc P-DA 12-24mm F4.0 ED/AL (IF) lens

Trees series
Landscape series
Wide Angle series

A Visit To Alton Barnes, 5 March 2023 (Flickr album of 22 photos)

A Visit To Honeystreet, 5 March 2023 (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Sparks - The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte (2023)
This is the title track of Sparks' next album, due in May, and the video features Cate Blanchett.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.