Not Entirely The Weather For Flip Flops

My brother managed to get a day off work today so we decided we would take a micro trip back to the seaside and settled on Broadstairs as our destination.
I think I prefer the English seaside out of season rather than at the height of summer. However, as we set off the weather wasn't looking very promising with low scudding clouds and drizzle but as we entered the town and parked the car the clouds had dispersed somewhat, the precipitation had ceased and the sun had appeared. A good omen!
My main shot is taken from the beach back across Viking Bay towards the town. I love the bright yellow colour of the hull of the boat with the pink buoy tethered to its side - mind you I'm not sure I'd want to go out in a boat named Flip Flop! After an initial walk along the beach and the harbour wall (where I took the first extra of the up ended boats) it was time for a lunch and a pint in a wonderfully named local hostelry called The Tartar Frigate.
Suitably refreshed we returned to the beach enjoying the sunshine as the waves lapped gently along the shoreline and then ventured back into town along the promenade (see my second extra with the optical illusional giant pink spade) via the cliff top gardens (where I captured my third extra of the pavilion clock tower as some ribbons tied to a metal balustrade fluttered past in the breeze) in search of an unseasonal ice cream. Most of the necessary establishments were closed (see my last extra with its blinds drawn) but Morelli's was still open so we both had a small tub of ice cream (I had chocolate and my brother had pistachio) sitting outside in one of the gardens. It was starting to get even colder at this point but why not enjoy an al fresco ice cream on the first day of March!
A great day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.