Bureh at dusk

I think I have gone some way to describing the INSANE driving conditions around Freetown. So, you can imagine my concern that Izzy had hired a car so that she could drive us out to a beach at Bureh, where we're staying the night.

But Izzy has always been someone who drives con brio, and today, as she moved adroitly from lane to lane, weaving in and out of the cars, trucks, kekes, and motorbikes, I did find myself wondering whether this was in fact the traffic she was born for.

We made it incident free out of the city and out into the countryside, passing along roads in a variety of conditions, and through towns and villages that all seemed like mini-Freetowns.

By contrast, the beach at Bureh was tranquil and beautiful. We had lunch, lounged around, reading our books, and then dinner. I thought we were headed for an early night but we were up until nearly midnight, drinking Star lagers and chatting away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.