Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Dublin Coddle

Yes it’s a thing

https://www.dublincity.ie/library/blog/brief-history-dublin-coddle

and my Mammy (in my care) asked me to make it for her

A first for me.

When we were kids, it was a staple on a Saturday. All the leftovers thrown into a pot (along with a bunch of chicken gizzards) and simmered in a gravy of a veg stock cube.

This was in the days before we had a ‘robust jus’ (seen on a menu in a hotel recently).

My Mammy is gonna be 99 in April and she was reared on a basic, leftovers-never-thrown-out menu. Not sure she would go for the ‘jus’ robust or not. Ha Ha hilarious but true.

I had a bowl for lunch and it was grand.

***

Extra is fb page of Bray Arts. First Monday of the month for five euro a concert of music, poetry, dancing etc. the arts should be inclusive and Bray Arts make this their priority.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.