Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Still wearing horns

We don't know why this buck has not lost his horns yet but I love that he comes to the yard with them since I know it is him.  All the others have no distinguishing marks so they all look the same!  

Today is my big 70.  We went to the outdoor store to get my birthday present...new binoculars!   What woman would want binoculars to celebrate 70 years!!  Me (and I can think of a few others!)   Anyway they are smaller than the spare binoculars that I used that were Jerry's and so much lighter.  Great for taking hiking and seeing birds in the trees.  

After the shopping we went to a new to us restaurant where I had a new version of shrimp and grits.  I have to say it was the best I have ever tasted.  I have tried the shrimp and grits at every restaurant that we visited that had it on the menu.   Hands down the best!!   I asked the waitress what the secret was and she told me...so I will be talking with Chef Brett about making this for us.  

We took the long way home instead of hoping back on the interstate highway.  This road took us by Clarks Hill Lake which was made by the damming of the Savannah River to produce power.  We stopped at the visitors center and found out that there are many hiking trails!!   One is in South Carolina but the majority are in Georgia...right across the road on the dam.   The ranger was a really nice lady with so much info.  She gave me maps and pointed out parking areas.  Now I need to make time to go back to do the hiking.    This is only a little over an hour from our house so it is not so far to drive.    In the extra is a view from the visitor center.  (of course I did not have a camera, only the phone!)

In other birthday news, one of my former work friends, Lori,  texted to say she and others were going to meet after work tomorrow to celebrate my birthday with drinks and some food.   She said even if I can't make it, they would celebrate me!  Silly woman, of course I will be there!!    I love those people!!     

It was a good day!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.