Hijsi

By Hijsi

Sunday morning I took a walk with the dogs a little (because I'm sick). I shot only 3 "empty" frames. And in the evening, the old story was repeated again - when there is no opportunity or strength to take pictures, and you love photography, then you start reading about different cameras, then you want them, and now it seems: if I had an X camera, I would definitely shoot more and better. This time I read about the Sigma DP2M (DP2 Merill) camera. I even found it on Avito, at least I didn't buy it. In the evening, when the head is no longer thinking very well, it is easy to go for impulsive purchases. Especially when you're sick. :))
Everything looks more sober this morning:
The working ISO is 100, maximum 200. There is no viewfinder, the screen is very mediocre. The control is inconvenient - only one wheel is available, you need to go to the menu for almost everything. The battery lasts for 50-70 shots, the dynamic range is very narrow. The resolution is 12 Mp. Autofocus is weak. One frame saves about 10 seconds. Processing - only in a special "native" developer, very slow and lacking on Linux. The price, even on Avito, is high (for me).
The camera has a unique Foveon sensor, which gives super colors and incredible detail. But who will see these super colors and super detail? Buy a 32-inch monitor for $ 6,500, calibrate and enjoy looking at the picture at a scale of 300%, but only on it? Print out pictures 1x1.5 meters  for $ 300 apiece? And where to put them, to whom and how to show them?
So I say to myself once again: Calm down, you fool! Shoot with what you have and don't worry! Remember David Hill and Robert Adamson!
(Sorry, the English translation is done by computer :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.