Derwent sunset

Please view large on black. 

Though this looks like a straightforward photo, it is a little more complicated than it seems. In fact, it's a combination of parts of three images, I used the sky from a short, unfiltered exposure, because I didn't want movement in them. The water was shot with a big stopper (10-stop) as it was ripply and distracting, I wanted a much smoother result, but a single exposure either gave me detail in the bright reflections, OR in the shadowy rocks. I therefore had to treat the base as an HDR, merging two exposures, one of 30 seconds, which was OK for the highlight areas, the other a 60 second exposure, to give me better detail in the shadows.

I love it when people say to me "landscapes, oh, you just point the camera and take a snap" ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.