RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Boss

Many years ago I made a bathroom cupboard as my 'apprentice piece', complete with proud dovetail joints and a sadly misaligned lock (I would never have made a joiner). It's the wrong size for the alcove in the shower room and a few days ago, after I'd realised I couldn't afford a commercially produced mirrored cupboard, the site manager asked me to do a design myself for what I'd like in the alcove.

I love doing that sort of work but it was only after I'd measured all the things I'd want to store in the shower-room and done detailed drawings that I realised that the mirrored doors would start halfway up my face and I would not be able to reach most of the shelves. Abandon plan.

Yesterday (before chasing the windows people at the end of the day) I went into house to sort more tiles for the tiler (I'm rejecting about 15% and he's working fast), to tell the site manager about my useless shower-room cupboard design and to ask him about painting:

Me: Should I come in to paint this weekend?
Site manager: You're the boss, you want to paint?
Me: No you're the boss - I'm the labourer.
Site manager: Then no painting. 
Me: Good - I hate painting.

Mutual grins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.