Flossmo

By Flossmo

Get weaving

Today I have been playing with my new toy - a peg loom. I have fancied to try weaving for a while but a conventional loom seemed a bit big and expensive just to try it out. But this loom won't take up much room and is enough for me to have a bit of fun experimenting with my bags of odds and ends. My only complaint is that I can't weave for more than an hour at a time as my back gets sore. Little and often I suppose.

This evening I went to a series of talks at Farnham Library as part of our week long literary festival. The talks, each about 15 minutes, were given  by local authors on the subject of how they got into writing books. Each author had a very different story to tell - both in their books and in how they got to write them. It was encouraging that at least one of the authors had faced serial rejections before finally finding a publisher for her thriller set in Rome in 1942. Another author self published via Amazon to avoid serial rejections of his local history books although he admitted he would never make a fortune that way. The third author had segued from a PhD into her first book, which was a historical biography. All in all an interesting hour and completely free. There was even free tea and biscuits but sadly I had just had my dinner so I politely declined.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.