Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Playing with Long Exposures

Having upgraded my camera lenses over the last year or so my 10-stop long exposure screw-on filter had become redundant, so I bit the bullet and upgraded to a Lee Big Stopper. It arrived yesterday so today was time to play.

Surrey is rather flat and lacking water features to show off the filter and inclement weather (and lack of time) meant a trip to the seaside was not really an option. Instead I headed over to the River Wey and its navigations with some interesting weirs which should do the job, even though they are not the easiest to get a decent angle for composition.

This is Papercourt Lock, with weir in full spate despite the lack of rain recently. A 54s exposure gave that marmite "long exposure" look, and there was just enough movement in the sky for some interest.

As I headed back to the car I was treated to a lovely sight of low-lying clouds lit up by the setting sun and reflections over the river (extra). I again took a long exposure to smooth out the water, though truth be told it was already as calm as a millpond, but it did "remove" the odd duck swimming around! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.