Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

A mystery

Trawling through another shoe box of old family things I came across this old bill. It was issued by James Beaumont and Sons'  Bridge Dyeworks, Honley, near Huddersfield. As the name of the Dyeworks suggests, they were situated on the banks of the River Holme near to the village bridge. I crossed that bridge every day on my way to school and I well remember that the river ran in many colours depending on what vat of used dye had been dumped into it that day.
The bill was for dying rovings Olive, Nut Olive and Brown. Rovings are woollen fibres ready for spinning. This would have taken place at Fisher, Firth and Company's mills. Given that this was 1917 and WW1 was still raging, the colours suggest that the final cloth would likely  have been used for Khaki uniforms for the army.
How the bill ended up in our shoebox of things I have no idea! The site of the dyeworks can be seen on the map.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.