The Laws

By thelaws

Merlin & Arthur

This is Joe's gerbil Merlin.

This morning Joe came to me in tears as he cradled Arthur (a white gerbil) in his hands. His gerbil had died an hour earlier whilst Joe was holding him. I was on the phone at the time, completely unaware of the unfolding tragedy. Joe came to me an hour later, still cradling his beloved pet and with tears streaming down his face. He hadn't called me before as he didn't know how to explain his pet had died. It took him almost an hour to form the words into sentences and bring him to me.

We wrapped Arthur in a towel, and I spent the next hour with Joe sobbing in my arms. I cried too. Merlin and Arthur have been proper scamps, totally adorable and naughty in equal amounts and Joe adored them. A burial site has been discussed, but poor Joe and poor Merlin who keeps exploring every corner of his gerbilarium looking for his brother.

It's a sad house today. RIP Arthur x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.