GWR train from Paddington to Cheltenham

I was scanning the skyline for three circling buzzards I'd spotted. They kept disappearing from sight as they were rather distant from me up above the Golden Valley. As I watched I heard the horn of a train approaching one of the pedestrian crossings over the railway, and watched it appear as it travels to Stroud station about half a mile ahead of it.

I rather like the nearly matching yellow of its front 'nose' with the forsythia flowers on the tree above it in the garden of a perched house above the small coombe.

These coombes are formed by the springs rushing out of the carboniferous limestone strata at the points where they overlie the Fullers Earth clay strata. Within a couple of hundred yards they will join the River Frome at the bottom of the valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.