Snow day.

I had an optician’s appointment at 9:05 this morning.
I got all togged up with leggings, warm socks, boots, extra layer of clothes, gloves, and my trusty red walking coat, to go up to the local shops where he is situated. Takes me about 15 minutes usually.
Took me a little longer as the conditions on the pavements needed extra vigilance.
Any traffic which was on the side roads or main road was crawling.
I actually arrived and there was only the receptionist in situ.
But I expected that to be the case.
The optician and his lovely assistant whom I have known a long time now arrived eventually.
A thorough eye check, scans, pressures, and the reading charts then took place.
He pronounced my eyesight very good.
I caused great merriment as I was putting on my coat, which has a zip, then popper fasteners and finally toggles to wrestle with, only to find I could not locate my gloves at all.
I had the optician, the receptionist, and the assistant all searching like a game of hunt the thimble, upstairs, where the consultation room is situated, and downstairs, all watched by the one other person who had come for his eye checks.
Eventually the receptionist asked “Have you any inside pockets?”
I patted my coat and sure enough that’s where I had put them when I had gone upstairs for my consultation.
Lots of laughter as I had to then unfasten the toggles, the poppers and the zip in order to retrieve the gloves.
And, of course, put the coat back on again once more!
As I walked back home the traffic on the main road was still going at a snail's pace.
Stephen had cleared our drive and the path from the back door to the garage, where we have an extra fridge.
We will not be venturing out anywhere else today. These kind of weather conditions lend themselves to slips and falls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.