Laviniafp

By Laviniafp

Lunch in the rain

I was surprised and pleased to see this pair of ducks show up for a snack in the rain today. (see extras for individual photos). Anyway, it's been a few years since I have had ducks in my yard, and I have no idea if these are the same ones or a new couple. As always the female flew in first; the male stood guard and allowed her to eat first and then took his turn.

Two big storms are hitting our area tonight and tomorrow. They are warmer storms than the ones we had a month or so ago, and the weather guessers say the rain will melt a lot of the snow in the lower elevations. Which means flooding. The rain started several hours ago and has been mild, but it's supposed to get bad with a lot of wind overnight. Sigh. I'm making potato soup, which is my response to cold, wet weather. I hope the ducks find a safe place to snuggle down; the creek will probably be too fierce for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.