Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Hoisting the cement

The neighbours have a problem with the water that cascades down the rocks at the back of their house. It causes damp and so builders have been engaged to try to solve the problem. As with many jobs in the village, ingenious methods are needed to raise materials. This morning, they built scaffolding so that buckets of cement could be lifted on a pulley.

I had a full blown panic this morning when I tried to pay for petrol and found my wallet was not in my pocket. I managed to pay with my phone but then rushed home hoping to find that I had left the wallet somewhere in the house. No luck. I phoned the hospital where I had last used my bank card only to be told that the consultant was not working and all the offices were locked until Monday. I envisaged the nightmare scenario of having to cancel all my cards and apply for another driving license etc. I was feeling quite dejected but Mrs TT came up trumps and shouted that she had found the wallet hidden under a chair in the veranda where it must have slipped out of my pocket. Whew! My pockets are too shallow so I have devised a system now whereby the wallet is attached to my belt by a piece of elastic.

With the panic over, I joined the others for tennis practice in the afternoon. There were just four of us, so we had a good game of doubles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.