One year on, same branch, different me...

A year ago today, I drove home from work, felt tired, and took a photo very similar of this branch of my Apricot tree in the back garden before going to bed at about 5pm. I woke up at 9pm, told Mrs C that I was feeling poorly, and was going back to bed. She agreed that I did look bad and recommended that I call the NHS helpline as something did not look right. I called them and they said that they had an ambulance passing our house on their way back to hospital as they would divert it in to assess me. They took a couple of ECG readings and decided that I should go with them to be dropped off at A&E at Lincoln Hospital for some routine blood tests, just incase. At 11pm, I packed a bag and walked out to the ambulance with them. By 11:20pm I was being resuscitated after a heart-attack in the ambulance (the last thing I remember is seeing the ASDA sign out the window) and by 11:45pm I was in surgery for a few hours.
12 months on, the journey has been long and sometimes slow, but the recovery has been made, with lots of held and support from many people, some of whom are nameless to me. If I had gone back to bed that night, the Surgeon said that I would not have woken up the next morning...
12 months on, the tree branch is still there, and so am I. The blossom is new, signifying new life and the start of new things happening. After a lot of though and soul-searching, several aspects of my life have been replanned for the better. In time, the tree will probably outlive me, but I'll give it a blooming good challenge...
Take each day as it comes, but always achieve something. You never know how important it could later become...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.