Star-of- Bethlehem

Love this tiny flower, and thrilled to see it on our Land this year. It reminds me of edelweiss. I used to have a necklace I loved with an edelweiss on it, wonder what happened to it?? Apparently, it's in the asparagus family, which makes sense; gathered another fistful of that for our lunch today. The name is because legend has it that it grew out of debris from the star of Bethlehem. Another name is eleven-o'clock lady, and I found out the reason for that when I went out in the golden hour, thinking I'd get a better photo of it - but they were all totally closed up.

Gratefuls:
- Zion and Allegra having fun in the snow with their Dad today, in Sutton
- real progress on the ex-carbuncle
- a chat with Felipe, who owns the land on the east of us and was gathering asparagus; he lived in France for forty years, and has an impressive walrus moustache

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.