Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

After the snow

More heavy wet snow this morning, though fortunately it had largely eased up by the time I drove out to a farm shop on the edge of the fens to discuss arrangements for a set of workshops KP and I will be running this year for Langdyke Countryside Trust. The cafe was packed, but we managed to grab a table next to the wood burner, with a view over the snowy fields.

The sky gradually cleared, and by mid-afternoon I felt more than ready for some exercise, so headed off for a long walk round Ferry Meadows. Although it was still bitterly cold, there was a feeling of spring in the air, with the first leaves appearing on the weeping willows, and golden catkins appearing on the sallow.

I spotted my first Siskins of the year, feeding on the seeds of Alders, and identified four locations for nesting Kingfisher, who seem to be doing very well locally. I also spent some time watching a pair of Mute Swans courting and then consummating their union. By contrast, the many Great Crested-grebes showed no particular bonding activity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.