Birds, Birds and more Birds

I’ve had my usual lovely day with my boys and we had a good time together. Went on to Julians for dinner tonight and now home falling in a heap as you do ; )

Took Toto for a stroll to the park before Julian arrived this morning and these two pink and grey galah’s were canoodling in this big gum tree, so sweet ; ). Along came some rainbow lorikeets and I didn't notice when I took this main shot that one of the lorikeets was hanging upside down in the background having a sticky beak at what was happening, it made me laugh ; )

As we came back past the lake I spotted the pelican again and we stopped to watch him in action.  There was a mother coot with a few mid grown babies nearby and the pelican zoomed through and scooped up two of the babies eeeek!!!! 
Then he stopped and held his beak under the water for about 30 seconds with his big eyes keeping watch and  then lifted his head and did a big swallow ugh!!  Apparently they do that to drown the prey before they swallow it!!! Oh the law of the jungle in action!!!  See the shot of those eyes in extras!!

In extras is shot of the lorikeets, some shell ducks and a building with pigeons, its been quite a day ; ) and I’m off to bed.  

Having a Blip Meetup with Doyley and Ninniex tomorrow which I’m looking forward to and then I’m meeting up with one of my cousins who I havent seen for 45 years which will be a big thrill ; ). We have spoken on the phone recently a couple of times but not met in person for all those years!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.