Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Haven in zicht

So, the day begins, a grey bank holiday Monday, time to do some photo admin, read the on-line papers, drink coffee, have a leisurely breakfast. That kind of thing.

Later on in the afternoon I decided to go for a cycle ride, primarily to see if I can spot the exotic-looking duck I saw yesterday when cycling past the harbour.

No duck to be seen at first, but I did spot a boat on the water, obviously a VIP on board, amongst other things, the professional photographer gave it away.

I recognised him to be local lad, and national pop star, quiz host, Guus Meeuwis.
British Blippers may recognise his cover of a Ralph McTell classic.

When the boat came to moor, I asked if I could take a few portrait shots, he was obliging.
I do love his songs, the lyrics are pure poetry, beautifully written, and his ode to Brabant always brings a lump to my throat when I hear it, as an adopted Brabander.

Why then didn't tell him this? Credit where credit's due I always think. But I was more than a little starstruck I just didn't get round to it I suppose. For shame.

For my blip, I didn't go with the portrait, but this, a sort of 'action' shot. Oh, and the title, haven in zicht = harbour in sight', is, you've probably guessed by now, a Guus Meeuwis song.

And the duck? It was a Mandarin, btw. Beautiful; poetry in motion on the water, a striking and unmistakeable bird. Never seen one before on this stretch of water.

Two spectacular sightings in such a short space of time.

Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.