CathyH

By CathyH

The Beginning

I read a blog post at Kaarina’s Journey that I just couldn’t let go of. She posed the question “What would I be doing rather than this?” Of course, at that time I was on the internet. Again!! Was that really how I wanted to spend my time? No. I closed the computer and went to find something I’d rather do.

On my sewing machine cabinet was a small wall hanging I started the first year of Covid. It was one of those someday-I’ll-finish-it-projects. I gathered my supplies and began to work on it.

The blocks were made by my grandmother probably in the 40’s or 50’s. Most of the fabrics are feedsacks. I chose eight of the many blocks she’d made for my small quilt. Don’t you love that little dog?

In the evenings I’ve been hand quilting it. I’m not a good quilter like my grandmother, but that’s just fine. It’s a pleasure to hold the pieces she touched so many years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.