Haring around Egypt

Today, my ifit/treadmill walk was in Dahshur to the Bent Pyramid. I hadn’t heard the story before about Pharaoh Sneferu who built a pyramid so wide it showed cracks when it was one half of its height and so the angle had to be changed resulting in the “bend”. Apparently the top half uses the proportions that he then went on to use for the Red Pyramid which looks far more like we expect a pyramid to look. After my walk I decided to look on youtube for what the interior of the pyramid is like and luckily someone had shared a ten minute video. Well, that was an eye opener. I have quickly learned that I couldn’t possibly go inside the Bent pyramid. I felt claustrophobic in the 85m long entrance tunnel and that was just watching it on my pc! Still I am very grateful that someone else went in and made a video so at least I have seen the inside virtually.


My blip shows our garden ornament hare which has a broken paw which Rob is endeavouring to fix today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.