Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Leith

Back Blip - and that's me now up-to-date for February - Yay!

One of my friends sent me a message earlier in the week asking if I fancied meeting up for lunch and a walk. OK, let's admit it, I was really looking forward to going to the football, but friendship won out and so I took the train over to Edinburgh today instead.

We did an 'interesting' walk - and I have to say it was my choice - following the route of the new Edinburgh tram line extension from Leith Walk in the city centre down towards Leith and its terminus near Ocean Terminal, an area with much history. It was fascinating to see the changing history of the place - much of what used to be there has now been replaced by modern buildings and there is still a lot of redevelopment going on.

Today's Blip was taken at South Leith Parish Church which, according to their website: "began as a chapel dedicated to St Mary which was erected in 1483 and dedicated in 1487."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.