Radio, Radio

My radio mic was ready and waiting in the dressing room when I arrived at the theatre tonight. Last night there had been a little bar of chocolate inside the box, but no such luck tonight. Maybe it was just an opening night thing! We have to be at the theatre quite early so that we can all have our mics checked on stage before the auditorium is opened to the public. With 12 different mics, this is not a quick process. I’m lucky that I have a mic to myself as I’m in all the episodes.
The show went well last night with only a very few missed lines and some SFX issues. Audience reaction was positive and we’ve got even more in tonight, so hoping to hear plenty of laughter coming back at us.
I think the pressures of the days leading up to opening night caught up with me this morning as I had quite a long lie-in! Still managed to fit in a gym session before lunch though, so I can’t say I’m not in good physical shape for the evening ahead.
The mic check went ok tonight. Last night, there was just no sound coming out and the techies were quite puzzled. Until I realised I hadn’t actually turned the pack on. D’oh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.