Welcome to London

Well, we make it to London - but feeling far from my best. This is the first time we’ve gone by train since pre-Covid times and amazingly, Avanti West Coast haven’t cancelled our straight-through service - though it’s packed because of other cancellations due to weather conditions. 

Our hotel near Covent Garden is excellent - my blip today the welcome cake delivered to our room.  Usually, when we visit the capital, I’m eager to get out to see and do as much as possible, but today I just want to rest before our theatre treat tonight. It’s the Lehman Trilogy - a three hour powerhouse of superb acting by the three actors Hadley Fraser, Nigel Lindsay and Michael Balogun who play various members of the banking family from their arrival in America in 1844 to the crash of 2008. 

I’m so grateful that I manage this - albeit with the help of pain killers etc. The performance is just stunning - and I’m reminded just how fabulous this city is for the quality of its cultural offerings. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.