The Daily Record

By havohej

Damnation AD No More Dreams of Happy Endings

Damnation AD 'No More Dreams of Happy Endings' (Jade Tree, 1995)

When I was invited to Thee Chymical Wedding Ov The Process I was initiated through whispers of 'Clevo' and 'Damnation AD'. Of course I was familiar with the likes of Integrity, but I was not fully cognisant of the arcane and occult matters which some of the 'Holy Terror' bands were so deeply invested in. As the concepts and conspiracies surrounding these bands were explained to me I became more interested and began to delight in constructing The Process' lyrical universe.

Unfortunately, with the exception of some crushing Ringworm tracks, I have been left totally unimpressed by the bands The Process set out to emulate. Jamie may have had these touchstones in mind, but I have always thought that The Process are better musicians, write better songs and are, most importantly, HEAVIER!

I purchased Damnation AD's debut at Generation Records on my last visit to New York. It was the first time that I wasn't made to feel extremely welcome which left me a little disappointed; I think the neck tattooed laddie behind the counter was annoyed that I identified Vallenfyre to the Caradoc as their mournful death metal filled the shop's confines. However, I cannot fault the decadent amount of beautiful records on display so no doubt I will be back.... Texas is the Reason are bound to reform again I'm sure!

I often wondered why Jamie was so into a band on Jade Tree, a label I loved due to Promise Ring (the split with Texas is the Reason is a genre defining record), Jets to Brazil and Pedro the Lion as well as their immaculate merchandise. He has since explained to me that Damnation AD were one of the first bands to first play heavy, brutal hardcore and they were real trailblazers. Unfortunately, in 2013 'No More Dreams of Happy Endings' sounds tinny and weak. The guitar tone and vocals are particularly disappointing. I know Jamie will be shaking his head in disbelief, but this does nothing for me.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.