Living my dream

By Mima

Face it

Can anybody else see the profile face in this bark? It caught my eye as I walked past and there it was: Blip found.

There’s an easier-to-see face in the extra. (“I love you Mima because you’ve got whey on your fingers.”)

Relaxing all day yesterday set me up for a lovely active day today. I made a Wensleydale cheese, and fitted various grass-cutting and weeding around the stages of its creation.

With any luck there will be rain tonight. The soil is bone dry again, so I’m crossing everything.

I’ve been musing on resistance to our climate crisis: the loss aversion that Nate Hagens has talked about in his latest excellent podcast. When I talk about the causes of the climate crisis to people locally I often meet defensiveness bordering on aggression, because folk can’t contemplate losing the luxuries and privileges that are commonplace in the global west. I don’t know how we turn that around. It is beyond me, but it’s too important to remain silent. However every time I stick my head over the parapet I get shot down…

And so I focus on the garden and my simple lifestyle again: my happy place where I constantly challenge myself to do as little as possible to contribute to the crisis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.