The Pillar Box

The Pillar Box

Yesterday evening was a delight with pals in Sherwood following a pretty full day doing the First Aid course at the cricket club. Here is my overview of said course that I shared with my cricketer colleagues this morning on that WhatsApp thingy:

Here are several things I took from yesterday’s First Aider Course:

1. We did not get a first aider uniform. Disappointing really as I’d done a cupboard clear out in preparation
2. Jake virtually lives in AEU’s. His number of accidents far exceeds his runs scored
3. After passing the course I still can’t do brain surgery
4. Or say ‘I’m a doctor’
5. LEN has lovely soft hands
6. Tim knows many swear words
7. Tim’s idea of ‘fun’ videos needs some work
8. Some of the ‘first aiders’ seemed very (too) comfortable spending time with the dummies
9. Snogging a dummy is not for me. For many reasons really. I’m a feelings man for starters & you simply don’t get that magic back from a dummy. That said, their lips were surprisingly spruce. That said, the smell of the alcohol wipe & knowing that one of my colleagues had only just left those lips, was something of a leveller…

I now look forward to the next course which is based on understanding the teachings of Sun Tzu, that great Chinese philosopher and cricketing genius. His batting advice will be on the inside of our changing room door for the new season:

‘Invincibility lies in the defence; the possibility of victory in the attack…’

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.