Terracotta Prayer Markers

These terracotta prayer markers can be seen in the churchyard of Great St Mary's, Cambridge, and were sculpted by Emma Fenelon, who works out of a studio under Peckham Rye station. She sets up art projects for many people including those in shelters for the homeless. She says, "I am a story teller and it can be seen in the surfaces and subjects of my work. I use found minerals, plants, clays and human ash dust (which has worlwide publicity) I like to pick at things and see what lies beneath..... I am driven by a fascination for what remains, how things survive and what we can read in these traces; like the old layers hiding under my wallpaper or old letters long abandoned..."
I often wondered what these pillars were for and didn't find out when I asked in the church. They said it was some art project of a few years ago, so I looked it up. A lot of her work is in 3D and quite lovely. I had never heard of Prayer Markers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.