tempus fugit

By ceridwen

When I am an old woman I shall grow purple

...potatoes!

I went to the garden centre in Cardigan to get some seed poatoes and was thrilled to find this variety, called Purple Majesty. I remember my father growing similar when I was a child in the 1950s. Where he sourced them I have no idea but he made a habit of cultivating rare varieties of the sort that would now be called 'heritage'.

Purple potatoes have become popular in recent years because they contain a high proportion of the antioxidants called anthocyanins which are said to have health benefits especially for older people. (The Japanese island of Okinawa where purple sweet potatoes are a big component of the diet has an exceptionally healthy elderly population – a large number of whom are aged over 100 years. Rates of dementia on Okinawa are reported as much as 50% lower than in the West.)


Jenny Joseph's well-known poem Warning (whence title)  was written in 1961 when purple was not considered a suitable choice for elderly ladies. That at least has changed. Who cares now if you have purple hair, purple nails or pie and purple mash, whatever your age?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.