Original.

I think I have previously posted this view, but for a different reason.  I am concentrating on the tree in the middle distance, which I was surprised to learn that this was the original 'Buttermere Tree,' standing virtually on the edge of the lake and next to a small triangle of beach.  It is a prominent feature.
The one I know as the 'Buttermere Tree' is the extra.  Still amazingly living and perhaps one of the most photographed trees in Lakeland.  I  think you can see why.  I, like others, have photographed this tree in different seasons and weathers.  One thing I've learnt (for competition purposes) is to move either to the left or right and get the 'trunk' matching with the V of Honister Pass or the right branch matching the slope of the right Fell.  What you learnt to 'make 'a better photo.  This is an early morning photo with sunlight 'sitting' on the surface.
I think I shall take more photos of the original 'Buttermere Tree' too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.