Wet, Wet, Wet

The rain was taking no prisoners today. The roads were so awash with water that there was a tsunami over the pavements every time a car or bus sped through a puddle.
Despite my mistake of putting on the wrong coat through force of habit and then not turning back to change to a waterproof when I saw the rain getting heavier, I persevered with my plan of returning a book to the Library before going into town to query a receipt from Primark -yes you heard it here first, I have been known to occasionally spend money there. So it was, that by the time I returned home, I was blackened by rain and soaked through to my skin. I can’t remember when we last had such a period of really heavy rain. I peeled everything off to put in the drying cupboard and have been forced to put on the heating. Still, it feels good to be dry and warm inside, looking out on the weather rather than taking part in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.