Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Tifo

A day of constant, and frequently heavy, rain. No inclination to go out for a walk and no need to go to the shops, so I spent a productive day at home. However, I did have a ticket for Falkirk's much-anticipated Scottish Cup quarter-final match against Ayr United in the evening and I was not going to miss that.

The home fans in the South Stand arranged this navy blue and white 'tifo', displayed just as the teams came onto the field. After a raucous welcome, things went a bit flat for the next 20 minutes or so as the Bairns struggled to match their Championship opponents and, although we played a bit better after that, the first half ended 0-1. A different story was to unfold in the second half as somehow we equalised and, after Ayr then missed a penalty kick, Falkirk scored what was to be the winning goal.

The Bairns are in the Scottish Cup semi-finals, and the noise as the match ended reached a level I have rarely heard at the Falkirk Stadium. Incredible scenes! I may also have been singing, but I couldn't possibly comment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.