Merino

Our fortnightly photography group (of five friends) met at the museum this afternoon, and told phone cameras would be sufficient. Timaru has a very good museum, whilst I didn’t take many photos of the displays, rather spent time taking angles, shapes, colours, shadows…and I have quite a variety.  I’ll put them into a collage or two sometime.  And I did some with the app AvgCamPro as well.
For my blip I’ve chosen this life size high country merino with an old photo of our highest mountain Mt Cook.  Incidentally, we used to live somewhere close to where this photo was taken for three years back in the early 70’s, a wonderful life we had with one toddler and a newborn.  Doug was one of the roading engineers in charge of the construction  of the new road to Mt Cook which was required after the dams and canals meant Lake Pukaki water raised many metres. The water engulfed the original road which meandered mainly along the lake shore.
In extra I tried in vain to get them to smile or at least make eye contact with me to no avail.  The photo at the bottom of the collage it take from the mezzanine floor of part of the lower level.  The contraption hanging from the roof is what Richard Pearse flew to be the first ever (not the Wright Brothers) to become airborne.  Our airport is named after him, there are streets, pubs and others using his name. 
We then adjoined to a local cafe for refreshments.  A most enjoyable afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.