Preparing for Summer

I needed another indoor blip on this rainy and very windy day (no walk, again). So here are some of my seedlings. The bigger ones in the background will grow into butternut squash plants, the small ones are tomato plants. Soon they will be transplanted into little pots. 

Last year, I had planted tomatoes that aren’t hybrids, but old varieties. That makes it possible to save their seeds to grow the next generation. 

I‘d never done that before, so I tried different methods. I washed and dried some seeds from tomatoes that went into a salad; I dried a whole (small) tomato, and kept another one in the freezer. Now I just put all those experiments into soil. And they all germinated just fine, so I‘ve got loads of seedlings.
 
No problem, I can always give some away when they’re bigger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.