*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Classics

Popped through to Bradford to pick up a few things this morning. Remembered to take the Waterstones giftcard today so treated myself to a book that grabbed my attention - I judged it totally by the cover and synopsis on the back, plus it was signed by the author.

The theme for Love Blippin' Books this month (#LBB3) is "A Classic" so I photographed the Classics section in the shop. I would say almost all of them are quite miserable so maybe the challenge should be "find and read a classic that isn't depressing as hell" ;-)

I'm currently reading The Mill on the Floss for LBB3 but it's hard work. I'm going to try to persevere until at least the end of section 1 - yes, it's so long winded that it's in 7 parts! I also downloaded the audiobook of David Copperfield by Charles Dickens from the library so listening to that - it's unabridged and read by Anton Lesser. I'm enjoying it but am looking forward to reading something cheerful next.

For last month's challenge I read The Lamplighters by Emma Stonex (#LBB2) which was a Christmas present. I really enjoyed it and would recommend. It's fictional but based loosely around the mysterious disappearance of the Flannan Islands lighthouse keepers in 1900. I liked how it jumped from the past (1970, in the run up to the disappearances) to the present (20 years later in 1990), from the prospective of all the different people (the lighthouse men and their partners). I love anything to do with lighthouses and the Flannan Islands case has always fascinated me...I was still thinking about the book long after I'd finished.

Went for a run this evening and took some treats for my crow friends. There was quite a gathering tonight and a lovely sunset too (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.