Beck

By RebeccaP

Marathon 2

I did it! Boy it was hot, and the water ran out, and there were lots of poor people lying by the side of the road - but I made it and not just that - I actually managed to bend down at the end and take my chip off, run for the train and cycle home!

Can't move from my chair though - might have to phone friends to come and help me get into bed, which I'm nervous I might not be able to climb out of tomorrow.

Its a funny run - it's horrible from about 19 to 24 miles, but the last 2 are brilliant because of the people who come to support. My friends were fantastic - they were in lots of places around the course and there at the end with a beer in hand. This shot is the last of us just contemplating going home.

It's been a rotten year. The training for this has been equally distracting and difficult. I've known for some time that after the run was over that I'd feel I can move on from it all and I'm certain I will. I've been a horrible mess - I have had to go through a miscarriage, a separation and a scary few weeks where money began to become a real issue.

I figure this is my blip to get it all done and dusted and tomorrow I'm starting fresh - that is if I can get out of bed!

Thanks to everyone for their lovely good wishes and support :) It has really helped a lot x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.