Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Exodus 14

When we made our temporary move here I started a project to record as many of the late Victorian church stained glass windows in south Oxfordshire as I could. Now that we are likely to move much sooner than I had imagined I'm well behind on my project. Today was a horrible wet day so I decided to tackle the superb St Mary's church in Henley. It has more than seventy lights in thirty stained glass windows. I've chosen this detail from an enormous window that's tucked away in the church tower. It depicts the story from Exodus 14 (the parting of the Red Sea) "Then the waters returned and covered the chariots, the horsemen, and all the army of Pharaoh that came into the sea after them." The window is by Clayton & Bell (one of my favourite designers) and was created in 1883.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.