PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Red-Whiskered Bulbul

Pycnonotus jocosus

When it rains it pours in blip land! Too many shots to choose from today! This is one of the most common birds around our bear centre, yet until today I've never managed to get a nice clear shot. So this might be as good as it gets!! Entry number six in BlipBigYear :)

I also have another blip in the hat and ready to go tomorrow! I won't spoil it by giving you the link on FB. I'm 99% certain she'll be in the same spot tomorrow. Sunbirds are nesting around our centre at the moment. Yesterday I found one nest and today I found a second - right outside our offices! So excited to be able to follow the progress of these two nests... Although a little nervous about the one outside our offices as we have four free-ranging cats... will be keeping a very, very close eye on those chicks when they start to fledge!

I also almost blipped this gorgeous very newborn buffalo calf today! Seriously - I may never see one this small again so it was a very hard decision between the Bulbul and Buffalo. He was most likely born overnight on our land just past the last bear house. The owners came in looking for their buffalo this morning (as they let them wonder for up to a week or two usually) and out they came with this little guy! He was too tired to walk the whole way so check out his mode of transport :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.