RunAndrewRun

By RunAndrewRun

My fourth Marathon - Seven Sisters, February 1984

Here's a photo-memento of the fourth marathon I ran - the "Seven Sisters" (Eastbourne), in February 1984.

Having completed a marathon in Northern Ireland, Scotland and Eire ... I realised that if I finished one in England and Wales before May 1984, I'd have run 5 in the 5-nations, all within a year!

I did try to register for London, but this was the early 1980's and Marathons were incredibly popular and the 'computer' didn't select me :-(

Thus - the "Seven Sisters" near Eastbourne it had to be. This was actually a cross-country marathon - took me over the cliffs at Beachy Head, and added (in total) an hour to my usual time. I remember to this day, just how hard this one was to finish!

Last photo-memento tomorrow - of a Welsh marathon, obviously ;-)

And remember, you can read a little bit more about why I'm now about to start training to run the Edinburgh Marathon (in 2014) by clicking .here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.