If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Coot ( Fulica atra )

We decided last night that as the weather forecast suggested rain by mid afternoon we would set off at a reasonable time and try to be back in the Marina before the rain.  When I went out on deck to do the morning engine checks I saw a couple of Coot in the field opposite.  Coot are normally birds of larger areas of water e.g. Lakes, meres, tarns, etc.

As I was bringing up the cameras for the day I grabbed a couple of shots.  I don't get the chance to take many photos on the canal at the moment.  When there were three of us my main job was when we reached locks, now I have to do my share of helming as well.  Previously I could pick up the camera at any time.

We arrived back in the marina before the rain and were tied up and very cosy with the stove going by the time the rain set in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.