Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

All in a day's work

Work, for many of us, is like water: sometimes we have too much, sometimes not enough. Being a self-employed freelancer, I can certainly attest to the sometimes exhilarating, sometimes hair raising roller coaster ride it's been these last 13 years doing web design on my own.

There are certain fringe benefits to being chronically undecided about a career path. I have had an eclectic assortment of jobs since college, and I'm pleased to report that I've found enjoyment in each and every one. I have worked at a magazine, I have worked in a darkroom, I have driven a bus in the Oakland hills, I have typed and filed and answered phones in countless, faceless offices, I've generated electricity at a power plant, keeping the lights on in San Francisco, I've repaired Apple computers, I've prepared delicious teriyaki, tempura, and other delectables at a fine, Japanese restaurant, and now, I build websites for lots of interesting people.

None of these jobs brought me any fame, and certainly there is no fortune anywhere to be found! Though my present job allows me to tap into many of my strengths and interests, something inside is hankering to move in a new, direction.... I'm thinking, maybe something along the lines of being independently wealthy, having no concern about bills, and spending my day doing things I enjoy immensely, with the people I adore and respect. How's that for a dream job?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.