OldTimer

By OldTimer

Drinking to St Patrick

Tonight 3 couples from my neighbourhood and myself had an evening out. Went to the pub at 4pm for a Guinness ( not me I hate the stuff ) to celebrate St Patrick's Day. After this we had a fish and chip picnic ( 0nce again not me because of my blasted cholesterol I took with me Salmon and salad) up the main street to watch a drive through of hundreds of classy cars . The Hospice fundraiser called Rock and Hop is on over three days. There are near 1000 cars from all around NZ and a number from Australia here to show off there classy upbeat zooped up cars of all descriptions.  They are from the sublime to the ridiculous, huge and gleaming with noisy exhausts. So they went on a roadie and came out through our village and on to Temuka and back to Timaru. We waved to them all and they tooted and called out when they saw our flash hats. It sure was a grand parade and our main street was lined with hundreds of people picnicking and just enjoying the fun. Tomorrow there is a huge day in Timaru where you can wander amongst the cars, watch rock and roll, best dressed competition and at night big rock and roll event and much more. It raises thousands for hospice. It is now their major fundraiser for the year. I am usually a volunteer but not this year, too involved elsewhere at the moment

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.