Adam's Images

By ajt

Hats

My wife found this hat stand in locally and while not perfect or new, it's awfully useful. For the blip I've spread my hats about, but practice they are normally bunched up a little more than this. It appears that I have a lot of hats!

In my 20s at university it became clear that my hairline was receding rather quickly. While I hadn't worn a hat much as a child or teenager, when I moved to the US it became essential.

The maroon and white bobble cap on the centre right was bought because it was flipping freezing in Massachusetts in the winter. I still wear it now decades later on cold days as it has the advantage of not blowing away even in the strongest wind.

The floppy Quicksilver hat was bought half a year later when I moved to southern California. It was pretty hot and sunny in the deserts and a broad rimmed hat was essential. It's not the best hat in the world but it works and like the bobble cap seems to have survived the decades.

On the left are a pair of Tilly hats. The middle one is my summer hat and is better that the Quicksilver plus more presentable. The top one is a REI/Tilly winter version with built-in ear warmers. It's smarter than the bobble cap on a cold day, but isn't as wind resistant.

On the top right are a pair of flat caps, one black and one Tweed. They are usually used in winter, being swapped for a peaked walking hat in summer.

I almost never go outside without a hat these days, it's rather easy to get cold/hot or nasty sunburn...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.