Anniemay

By Anniemay

Open

Last week I rescued a bunch of lilies from the supermarket. They were almost out of sight in the 'reduced' section hidden by all the other lovely blooms. They were reduced to £1.99 from £7.00 and were looking a bit bedraggled and sorry for themselves. I took them home, gave them some flower food and put them in a lovely vase. They continued to look sad for a day or so and then the flowers suddenly opened and they rewarded me with a beautiful show of the most magnificent white blooms. Flowers have continued to open and bloom in turn for several days now and they still haven't finished yet.

I'm a bit of a sucker for rescuing flowers and plants that have been discarded and it doesn't always turn out well. This time my optimism has been rewarded and I'm enjoying a show worth so much more than the £1.99 I paid.

Before I finish my journal for today I would like to say 'thank you' to all the blippers who sent me words of comfort yesterday. They were very much appreciated on what was a very difficult day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.