hollyyoung

By hollyyoung

Some Dead Creek Characters

I kayaked from Gores Landing, down the Ocklawaha to Dead Creek.  I had intended to make the loop but downed trees stopped me.  I did get out of the boat and try to portage but the # of gators and fresh poison ivy encouraged me to change my mind.  Not to freak anyone out but I did literally brush up against both.  Not the one above but a little 3 footer didn't like me getting out where I did and quickly took off.  The poison ivy left a small patch on my leg.  
This is a gloriously remote area of the river and I didn't see any people all day except at the launch, which is also a campground.  
White Ibis (aka goofy birds) and a bumble bee coming in for a landing on a Savannah Iris.  When you hear the goofy birds chatting amongst themselves, it sounds just like a group of kayakers having a good chin wag.  Makes me smile when its just the Ibis.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.